Board of Directors

The Directors of Kennedy King, pictured here at the 2014 Annual Awards Dinner in Concord.

The Board of Directors of Kennedy-King is made up of volunteers who are community leaders in Contra Costa County. They include educators, business people, attorneys, labor leaders, elected officials and others who are committed to making a difference in the lives of deserving students. No board member takes a salary, and we have no paid staff.


  • President: John McPeak, Retired Educator
  • Secretary: Diane Scott-Summers, former President, Diablo Valley College
  • Treasurer and Vice-President, Finance: Loella Haskew, Walnut Creek City Councilmember
  • Vice-President, Scholar Selection: Laurie Fox, Human Resources Consultant
  • Vice-President, Awards Dinner: Nikki Maziasz, Retired Banker
  • Vice-President, College & University Relations: Keiko Kobayashi, Deputy County Counsel, Contra Costa County
  • Vice-President, College & University Relations: Maria Solemnidad, Sr. Manager of Finance Planning & Reporting, Skywalker Ranch Properties

Board Members:

  • Bette Boatmun, Contra Costa Water District board member
  • Chuck Carpenter, Contra Costa County Central Labor Council member
  • Ron de Golia, Retired Colonel, U.S.Air Force
  • Ella Gower, Attorney
  • James Kennedy, Retired Director, Contra Costa County Redevelopment Agency
  • Mike Markowitz, Attorney
  • Ose Oseguera, Chevron Corporation
  • Art Rangel, Apple Corporation
  • Edmund Regalia, Retired Attorney and Founding Director of Kennedy-King
  • Alfonse Upshaw, Vice President-Deputy Controller, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc.
  • Joseph Villarreal, Executive Director, Contra Costa County Housing Authority
  • Ellen Williams, Retired Business Executive
  • Monica Wilson, Antioch City Councilmember
  • Dr. Fred Wood, Chancellor, Contra Costa Community College District

Board History